The Information Systems Security Association Announces Recipients of 2021 ISSA Awards

Home » News » The Information Systems Security Association Announces Recipients of 2021 ISSA Awards

Vienna, VA – October 5, 2021 – The Information Systems Security Association (ISSA), the premier non-profit cybersecurity professional association, honored recipients of the 2021 ISSA Awards at its Virtual Gala last week. ISSA annually recognizes excellence in information security professionals, the companies they work for, and the chapters to which they belong.

“For over 20 years ISSA has recognized the individuals working hard to advance their skills and the cybersecurity profession at large in the mission to protect organizations around the world from cyber threats,” said Candy Alexander, Board President, ISSA International. “With each passing year the cybersecurity challenges continue to increase and we are honored to recognize the individuals who are facing these challenges head on. ISSA awards recipients represent many of the industry's most renowned security professionals who have helped to shape the industry and who have in turn helped to train and inspire the next generation.”

The categories and winners are:

Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame is a lifetime achievement award recognizing an individual's exceptional qualities of leadership in their own career and organization as well as an exemplary commitment to the information security profession.

  • 2021 Recipients
    • Elizabeth Zwicky
    • J. Trent Adams
    • Murray Kucherawy
    • Edna Conway
    • Dawn Cappelli

Honor Roll

Honor Roll is a lifetime achievement award recognizing an individual's sustained contributions to the information security community, the advancement of the association and enhancement of the professionalism of the membership.

  • 2021 Recipient
    • Gabe Chomic
    • Adam Danieluk

Chapter of the Year

Chapter of the Year recognizes chapters that have done an exceptional job of supporting ISSA’s mission, serving their member communities, and advancing the field.

  • 2021 Recipient
    • Medium: Minnesota Chapter
    • Large: Colorado Springs Chapter
    • International: Poland Chapter

Volunteer of the Year

The Volunteers of the Year Award recognizes a member who has made a significant difference to their chapter, the association, or the information security community through dedicated and selfless service to ISSA.

  • 2021 Recipients
    • Francesco Chiarini
    • Patrick Sheehan
    • Christine Mack
    • Debbie Christofferson
    • Julie Johnson

Organization of the Year

The Organization of the Year Award recognizes candidates with a sustained, proactive presence that directly contributed to the overall good and professionalism of the association and its membership, providing either services, products and/or direct support that ensures the promotion of the highest ethical standards in addressing information security and its future direction.

  • 2021 Recipient
    • Mandiant Threat Research Team

President’s Award for Public Service

The President's Award for Public Service recognizes an individual's contribution to the information security profession in the area of public service.

  • 2021 Recipient
    • Jim Reavis

Security Professional of the Year

The Security Professional of the Year honors one (1) individual who best exemplifies the most outstanding standards and achievement in information security in the preceding year.

  • 2021 Recipient
    • Kurt Danis

ISSA Fellows and ISSA Distinguished Fellows

This program honors established cyber professionals with demonstrated success and contributions to the industry. These individuals have dedicated years towards the innovation and progression within the cyber realm.

  • ISSA Fellows
    • Rich Larkins
    • Gene McGowan
  • ISSA Distinguished Fellows
    • Michael F. Angelo
    • Steve Chan
    • Shawn Murray

More information on the 2021 ISSA Awards winners and past winners can be found here. More information on the awards program can be found here.



The Information Systems Security Association (ISSA)™ is the community of choice for international cyber security professionals dedicated to advancing individual growth, managing technology risk, and protecting critical information and infrastructure. ISSA members and award winners include many of the industry’s notable luminaries and represent a broad range of industries – from communications, education, healthcare, manufacturing, financial and consulting to IT – as well as federal, state and local government departments and agencies. Through regional chapter meetings, conferences, networking events and content, members tap into a wealth of shared knowledge and expertise. Follow us on Twitter at @ISSAINTL.

Click on the link to learn more about ISSA.

Posted in ,
Scroll to Top