ISSA Announces the 2023 ISSA Awards Finalists and Fellows recipients

Home » News » ISSA Announces the 2023 ISSA Awards Finalists and Fellows recipients

Vienna, VA – June 28, 2023 – The Information Systems Security Association (ISSA), the premier non-profit cybersecurity professional association, announces the 2023 ISSA International Awards Finalists. The 2023 International Awards Gala will be held at the MGM Grand Las Vegas on August 5th, 2023. In addition, all 2023 ISSA Fellows and Distinguished Fellows will be honored at this event. Join us at the gala.

“ISSA recognizes individuals, chapters and organizations who work tirelessly to promote cybersecurity, build peer networks, and provide workforce tools and guidance to professionals and the next generation,” said Candy Alexander, Board President, ISSA International.  “We look forward to the Awards Gala where we will announce the winners and recognize them for their astonishing contributions to the community and profession.”

The categories and finalists are:

Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame is a lifetime achievement award recognizing an individual's exceptional qualities of leadership in their own career and organization as well as an exemplary commitment to the information security profession.

  • 2023 Finalists
    • Randall Frietzsche
    • Mr. Clément Dupuis, CD (Posthumous Nomination)
    • Richard Greenberg
    • Shawn Murray
    • Troy Adam Hunt

Honor Roll

Honor Roll is a lifetime achievement award recognizing an individual's sustained contributions to the information security community, the advancement of the association and enhancement of the professionalism of the membership.

  • 2023 Finalists
    • Frank Gearhart
    • Lora Woodworth
    • Mathieu Gorge
    • James R. McQuiggan

Chapter of the Year

Chapter of the Year recognizes chapters that have done an exceptional job of supporting ISSA’s mission, serving their member communities, and advancing the field.

  • 2023 Finalists


  • Northern Colorado
    • Kansas City, MO


  • Chicago, IL
  • Los Angeles, CA
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • Alamo, TX
  • Cental OH
  • Middle TN


  • Colorado Springs Chapter


  • Poland Chapter

Volunteer of the Year

The Volunteers of the Year Award recognizes a member who has made a significant difference to their chapter, the association, or the information security community through dedicated and selfless service to ISSA.

  • 2023 Finalists
    • Laurence Holt
    • Jack Freund
    • Richard Larkins
    • Karen Williams
    • Phebe Swope
    • Rashmi Bharathan
    • Robert Kinzer
    • Sarah Duncan
    • Michelle Duquette

President’s Award for Public Service

The President's Award for Public Service recognizes an individual's contribution to the information security profession in the area of public service.

  • 2023 Finalists
    • Chris Gorog
    • Sametria L McKinney
    • Lawrence Abrams

Security Professional of the Year

The Security Professional of the Year honors one (1) individual who best exemplifies the most outstanding standards and achievement in information security in the preceding year.

  • 2023 Finalists
    • Paige Needling
    • Brian Ngac
    • Gregory Rasner
    • Dan LoPresto

2023 ISSA Fellows and ISSA Distinguished Fellows

This program honors established cyber professionals with demonstrated success and contributions to the industry. These individuals have dedicated years towards the innovation and progression within the cyber realm.

    ISSA Fellows
    • Robert Hansel
    • Edmond Momartin
    • Connie Matthews Reynolds
    • Peter Hill
    • Frank Gearhart
    • John F. Petrie III
    • Marik Kuczynski
    • Srikant Mantravadi
    • Phebe Swope
    ISSA Distinguished Fellows
    • Walter Magda
    • Clyde “Howard” Gordon, Jr.
    • Jimmy Sanders
    • John Donovan

    More information on the 2023 International ISSA Awards Finalists and past winners can be found here. More information on the awards program can be found here.



    The Information Systems Security Association (ISSA)™ is the community of choice for global cyber security professionals dedicated to advancing individual growth, managing technology risk, and protecting critical information and infrastructure. ISSA members and award winners include many of the industry’s notable luminaries and represent a broad range of industries – from communications, education, healthcare, manufacturing, financial and consulting to IT – as well as federal, state and local government departments and agencies. Through regional chapter meetings, conferences, networking events and content, members tap into a wealth of shared knowledge and expertise. Follow us on Twitter at @ISSAINTL. Learn more about ISSA.

    Click on the link to learn more about ISSA.

    Posted in ,
    Scroll to Top