ISSA Announces the 2022 ISSA International Awards Winners and Fellows Recipients

Home » News » ISSA Announces the 2022 ISSA International Awards Winners and Fellows Recipients

Vienna, VA – August 15, 2022 – The Information Systems Security Association (ISSA), the premier non-profit cybersecurity professional association, announces the 2022 ISSA International Awards Winners and Fellows recipients. The 2022 International Awards Gala held at the MGM Grand Las Vegas on August 6, 2022 to celebrate the winners and honorees.  In addition all ISSA Fellows and Distinguished Fellows were honored at this event.

“For over 20 years ISSA has recognized the individuals working hard to advance their skills and the cybersecurity profession at large in the mission to protect organizations around the world from cyber threats,” said Candy Alexander, Board President, ISSA International.  “We are pleased to recognize the astonishing contributions that these individuals and organizations provide to the community and profession.  We are proud to have them as long-standing ISSA members and peers.”

The categories and winners are:

Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame is a lifetime achievement award recognizing an individual's exceptional qualities of leadership in their own career and organization as well as an exemplary commitment to the information security profession.

  • 2022 Honorees
    • Matthew Bishop
    • Diane Janosek
    • Sandra Joyce
    • Dale Meyerrose
    • Wendi Whitmore

Honor Roll

Honor Roll is a lifetime achievement award recognizing an individual's sustained contributions to the information security community, the advancement of the association and enhancement of the professionalism of the membership.

  • 2022 Honorees
  • Kurt Danis
  • Mohamed N. El-Guindy
  • Colleen Murphy
  • Damien Suggs
  • Glenn York

Chapter of the Year

Chapter of the Year recognizes chapters that have done an exceptional job of supporting ISSA’s mission, serving their member communities, and advancing the field.

  • 2022 Winners
  • Small: Chattanooga
  • Medium: Central OH
  • Large: Raleigh, NC

Volunteer of the Year

The Volunteers of the Year Award recognizes a member who has made a significant difference to their chapter, the association, or the information security community through dedicated and selfless service to ISSA.

  • 2022 Winners
  • KJ. Patrice Sedjro
  • Debi Caldwell
  • Janelle R. Hsia

Organization of the Year

The Organization of the Year Award recognizes candidates with a sustained, proactive presence that directly contributed to the overall good and professionalism of the association and its membership, providing either services, products and/or direct support that ensures the promotion of the highest ethical standards in addressing information security and its future direction.

  • 2022 Winner
  • CISA

President’s Award for Public Service

The President's Award for Public Service recognizes an individual's contribution to the information security profession in the area of public service.

  • 2022 Winner
    • Caroline Wong

Security Professional of the Year

The Security Professional of the Year honors one (1) individual who best exemplifies the most outstanding standards and achievement in information security in the preceding year.

  • 2022 Winner
    • Srikant Mantravadi

ISSA Fellows and ISSA Distinguished Fellows

This program honors established cyber professionals with demonstrated success and contributions to the industry. These individuals have dedicated years towards the innovation and progression within the cyber realm.

ISSA Fellows

  • Don Baham
  • Curtis Coats
  • Laura Harder
  • Sidney Spunt
  • David M. Vaughn
  • Lora Woodworth

ISSA Distinguished Fellows

  • Kurt Danis, CISSP-ISSEP
  • Elliott Franklin
  • Colleen R. Murphy
  • Karen Freeman Worstell

More information on the 2022 ISSA Awards winners and past winners can be found here. More information on the awards program can be found here.

View the 2022 ISSA International Awards Gala Program here.



The Information Systems Security Association (ISSA)™ is the community of choice for international cyber security professionals dedicated to advancing individual growth, managing technology risk, and protecting critical information and infrastructure. ISSA members and award winners include many of the industry’s notable luminaries and represent a broad range of industries – from communications, education, healthcare, manufacturing, financial and consulting to IT – as well as federal, state and local government departments and agencies. Through regional chapter meetings, conferences, networking events and content, members tap into a wealth of shared knowledge and expertise. Follow us on Twitter at @ISSAINTL. Learn more about ISSA.

Click on the link to learn more about ISSA.

Scroll to Top