ISSA Announces the 2019 International Board Elections

Home » News » ISSA Announces the 2019 International Board Elections

Vienna, VA – August 21, 2019 – The Information Systems Security Association (ISSA) has announced the results of its 2019 elections for the International Board of Directors with the following individuals and officer roles: Deb Peinert CISSP, ISSM (Denver) has been elected as the new ISSA International Vice President; Shawn Murray CISSP, C|CISO, CRISC (Colorado Springs) was elected as the new ISSA International Chief Operations Officer/Secretary; and Pamela Fusco was re-elected as the ISSA International Chief Financial Officer/Treasurer.

Betty Burke, CISSP, CISA (Minnesota) was elected and David Vaughn, CISSP, C|CISO, LPT, GCFA (Raleigh) was re-elected for new terms as International Board Directors. Additional Directors were appointed by the Board to serve, including: Rob Martin, CISSP (Raleigh); Lee Neely, GMOB, GPEN, GWAPT, GAWN, CISSP, CISA, CISM and CRISC (Idaho); and current director Bill Danigelis (San Francisco & Silicon Valley).

Returning board members include: ISSA International President, Candy Alexander, CISSP, CISM (New England); and current directors: Ken Dunham, CISSP, CISM (Boise), Alex Grohmann, CISSP, CISA, CISM, CIPT (N. Virginia), Wayne Proctor CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC (Metro Atlanta), and Mary Ann Davidson (Silicon Valley).

These new Board Officers and Directors will be inducted during the 2019 Annual Membership Meeting on September 20, 2019 and will be joining the full ISSA International Board in October at the ISSA International Summit – “Making Security a Top Priority” – October 1-2, 2019, in Irving, Texas.

As the only independent forum dedicated to advancing the development of cybersecurity professionals, ISSA plays a crucial role in fostering industry leaders. With the membership of cyber security professionals and chapters reaching around the globe, the organization also provides a unified voice on key issues, influencing public opinion, government regulations, media and other important audiences.

As leaders of the ISSA, the International Board of Directors are at the forefront of protecting the cyber frontier. Through ISSA, this collective experience is transformed into powerful knowledge and peer networking to help cyber security practitioners from all levels of the Cyber Security Career Lifecycle™ – from students to CISOs, to stay informed with rapidly evolving technology and to develop the next generation of cyber security leaders.

Past ISSA leaders and Hall of Fame award winners include industry notables such as: Candy Alexander, Scott Charney, Dave Cullinane, Dan Farmer, Pamela Fusco, Simson Garfinkel, Sandra Lambert, Steven Lipner, Jeff Moss, William H. Murray, Marcus Ranum, Howard A. Schmidt, Bruce Schneier, Eugene H. Spafford (aka Spaf), and many more.

Resource Links



The Information Systems Security Association (ISSA)® is a not-for-profit organization. It is the community of choice for international cybersecurity professionals and practitioners dedicated to advancing individual growth, managing technology risk, and protecting critical information and infrastructure. Its mission is a commitment to promoting effective cybersecurity on a global basis: serving as a respected forum for networking and collaboration, providing education and knowledge sharing at all career lifecycle stages, and acting as a highly regarded voice of information security that influences public opinion, government legislation, education, and technology with objective expertise that supports sound decision-making.

Media Contact

Posted in
Scroll to Top