Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
ISSA International Awards

Congratulations to our 2017 Award Recipients!

ISSA annually recognizes outstanding information security professionals, their companies, and chapters that are at the top of their respective games.

Hall of Fame is a lifetime achievement award recognizing an individual's exceptional qualities of leadership in their own career and organization as well as an exemplary commitment to the information security profession. Candidates are not required to be ISSA members. Up to five (5) recipients may be inducted annually.

2017 Recipient: Elisa Bertino

Honor Roll is a lifetime achievement award recognizing an individual's sustained contributions to the information security community, the advancement of the association and enhancement of the professionalism of the membership. Up to seven (7) recipients may be inducted annually. 

2017 Recipients: Gail Coury, Russ McRee

Chapter of the Year recognizes chapters that have done an exceptional job of supporting ISSA’s mission, serving their member communities and advancing the field. 

2017 Recipients:

  • Small Chapter: ISSA Chattanooga Chapter
  • Medium Chapter: ISSA Central Maryland Chapter
  • Large Chapter: ISSA Colorado Springs Chapter

The Volunteers of the Year Award recognizes a member who has made a significant difference to their chapter, the association or the information security community through dedicated and selfless service to ISSA. 

2017 Recipients: Frank Gearhart, Robert Martin, Jake Ross

The Organization of the Year Award recognizes candidates with a a sustained, proactive presence that directly contributed to the overall good and professionalism of the association and its membership, providing either services, products and/or direct support that ensures the promotion of the highest ethical standards in addressing information security and its future direction. The association does not intend to limit or restrict nominations to large corporate entities, government agencies, consulting firms, current vendors, or sponsors nor to those individual entities making significant cash contributions to the Association. Instead the Association wishes to recognize those who truly distinguish themselves within the community as a whole and are deserving of this recognition. 

2017 Recipient: Center for Internet Security

The President's Award for Public Service recognizes an individual's contribution to the information security profession in the area of public service. 

2017 Recipient: Brian Krebs


For questions that were not addressed in the ISSA Awards Policies and Procedures Manual, please contact Sean Bakke.


Past Award Winners

Hall of Fame Recipients

Leonard ("Len") Max Adleman
Francis ("Candy") Alexander 
Michael F. Angelo
Andy Briney
Scott Charney
Gerald Combs
Dave Cullinane
Mary Ann Davidson
Dorothy Denning
Whitfield Diffie
Donald Evans
Dan Farmer
Pamela Fusco
Simson Garfinkel
Susan Hansche
Shon Harris
Martin Hellman
Steve Hunt
Michel Kabay
Sandra Lambert
Steven B.Lipner
Lynn McNulty
Erik G. Mettala
Richard Mosher
William Hugh Murray

Patricia A. Myers          
Stephen Northcutt
Richard Owen
Alan Paller
Donn Parker
Thomas Peltier
Michael Peters
Fred Piper
George Proeller
Marcus Ranum
Jim Reavis
Jeff Reich
Kevin Richards
Ronald L. Rivest
Ron Ross
Howard Schmidt
Bruce Schneier
Eugene Schultz
Adi Shamir
Sanford Sherizen
Eugene Spafford
Harold Tipton
William Tompkins
Wietse Z. Venema
James Wade
Roy Wilkinson
Ira Winkler

Honor Roll Recipients

Candy Alexander
Joanne Ashland
Harry Bing-You
Howard "Skip” Chapman
Mario Chiock
Debra Christofferson
Dave Cullinane
Bill Danigelis
James Duffy
Brian Engle
Donald Evans
Rhonda Farrell
Richard Greenberg
Patricia (Gilmore) Myers
Alex Grohmann      
Steve Haydostian
Ronald Helsley
Andrea Hoy
Gerald Isaacson
Gerald Kovacich
Sandra Lambert
Bart Moerman
Elio Molteni
Richard Mosher
William Hugh Murray
Marc H. Noble
Edward Norris

Owen O'Connor
Richard Owen, Jr.
Deb Peinert
Lawrence A. Pingree
Ralph Spencer Poore
George Proeller
Dave Reed
Kevin L. Richards
Anne Rogers
Allen Scalise
Howard Schmidt
Brian Schultz
Eugene Schultz
Mark Spencer
Harold Tipton
William Tompkins
Javier Torner
Joel Weise
Robin Wheeler
Mark Williams
Vern Williams
Alex Woda
Roger Younglove
Ernest E. Zernial, Jr.

Chapter of the Year

Alamo Chapter (2011, 2014)
Capitol of Texas Chapter (1998, 1999, 2008, 2013, 2016)
Central Alabama Chapter (2009)
Colorado Springs Chapter (2005, 2008)
Lima Perú Chapter (2012)
Metro Atlanta Chapter (2011)
Minnesota Chapter (2002, 2016)
New England Chapter (2000, 2001)
Northern Virginia (NOVA) Chapter (2004, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2014)
Phoenix Chapter (2009, 2015)
Poland Chapter (2008, 2011)
Puerto Rico Chapter (2014, 2015)
Sacramento Valley Chapter (2012)
Silicon Valley Chapter (2003)
South Texas Chapter (2007, 2013)
Turkey Chapter (2013)
United Kingdom Chapter (2005, 2006, 2012)

Chapter Communications Program of the Year

Capitol of Texas Chapter (2005, 2006)
Denver Chapter (2003)
Kansas City Chapter (2000-website, 2001)
Metro Atlanta Chapter (2001)
Metro New York (1999 – website, 2000 – newsletter)
Middle Tennessee Chapter (2002)
New England (1998 – website)
Northern Virginia Chapter (2004, 2007)
Poland Chapter (2009)
United Kingdom Chapter (2008, 2009, 2011)

Security Professional of the Year

Candy Alexander (2000)
Michael Angelo (2011)
Joanne Ashland (2002)
Aaron Carpenter (2014)
Howard "Skip” Chapman (2009)
Eric Cowperthwaite (2012)
June Dabbs (2001)
Louis Gamon (2007)
Mark Johnson (2008)
Albert Marcella (2016)
Thomas R. Peltier (1998)
Anne M. Rogers (2004)
Randy V. Sabett (2013)
John Thompson (2003)
Sherry R. Voit (2006)
Vernon Williams (2005)
Nena Young (1999)

Volunteer of the Year

Jordan Lombard (2015)
Constance Matthews (2016)
Colleen Murphy (2016)
Richard Mosher (2012)
Lawrence A. Pingree (2015)
Phil Rogofsky (2014)
Roberto Puyó Valladares (2012)
David Vaughn (2015)
Mark Williams (2013)

Organization of the Year

Avaya Government Solutions (2013)
California State University, San Bernardino (2012)
Cisco Systems, Inc. (2007)
Citrix (2011)
Colorado Technical University (2004)
Consul Risk Management BV (2002)
Ernst & Young (1999, 2000)
Foundstone, Inc. (2001)
ITT Technical Institute (2009)
Microsoft Trustworthy Computing Group (2015)
MITRE Corporation (2008)
Nortel Government Solutions (2006)
OWASP (2016)
SANS Institute (1998)
Sourcefire (2013)
Vanguard Integrity Professionals (2003)

President’s Award for Public Service

John Austen (2002)
Richard A. Clarke (2003)
Sharon Ehlers (2008)
Karen S. Evans (2004)
George Kurtz (2015)
Stuart McClure (2015)
Jeff Moss (2011)
Marc H. Noble (2007)
George Proeller (2009)
Joel Scambray (2015)
Howard Schmidt (2016)
Symantec Stuxnet Team: Liam O'Murchu, Eric Chien, Nicolas Falliere (2012)
George White (2011)

President’s Awards

Robert W. Daniels (2006)
Louis Gamon (2007)
Kevin Richards (2006)

Special Vendor Award

SPI Dynamics (2004)

Award of Excellence

Richard Mosher (1999)
Edward Norris (1999, 2000, 2001)

Individual Contribution to the ISSA

J. Louis Lambert (1998)
Robin L. Wheeler (1998)

Individual Achievement

Gary E. Brooks
Steve Hunt

Higher Education Center of Excellence

Colorado Technical University (2005)

Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely

3/19/2018 » 3/21/2018
InfoSec World 2018 Conference & Expo

4/14/2018 » 4/15/2018
April CISO Forum San Francisco 2018

Copyright © 2016, Information Systems Security Association, All Rights Reserved
Privacy PolicyCopyright Information